Our Website Uses Cookies 


We and the third parties that provide content, functionality, or business services on our website may use cookies to collect information about your browsing activities in order to provide you with more relevant content and promotional materials, on and off the website, and help us understand your interests and improve the website.


For more information, please contact us or consult our Privacy Notice.

Your binder contains too many pages, the maximum is 40.

We are unable to add this page to your binder, please try again later.

This page has been added to your binder.

COVID-19 & Business Disruption -- The Hawks, the Doves and Insurance

Date: Friday, April 3, 2020 9:00 AM - 9:45 AM

Please join us for a 45-minute call with Covington's leading EU Disputes team which focusses on the English law themes of:

  • Breach of contract in supply chains
  • Suspension of obligations by reason of Force Majeure
  • The legal doctrine of Frustration
  • The likely extent of insurance cover for business losses and the position of Insurers

As businesses feel the effects of COVID-19 on supply chains and the ability to trade, many companies are scrutinising the detail of their major contracts.

Some businesses - the Doves - want to understand whether the current crisis might entitle them to contractual or common law protections. Other, more opportunistic, businesses - the Hawks - are keen to understand whether the current crisis provides the chance to escape a bad deal or perhaps try to gain some advantage over their counterparties.

Both the Hawk and the Dove businesses need to understand the “tectonic plates” of their major contracts, and the extent to which the legal concepts of breach, force majeure and frustration may apply in the context of COVID-19.

Just as importantly, there has been a lot of debate about the value and role of insurance policies in mitigating losses which have already flowed, and will continue to flow, from the COVID-19 crisis.

Join us on Friday, 3 April, as members of our team share real-time insights on these topics under English law.

Speakers include:

Louise Freeman
Partner
lfreeman@cov.com
+44 20 7067 2129

Greg Lascelles
Partner
glascelles@cov.com
+44 20 7067 2142

Alex Leitch
Partner
aleitch@cov.com
+44 20 7067 2354

Richard Mattick
Of Counsel
rmattick@cov.com
+44 20 7067 2023

Friday, April 3, 2020
2 - 2:45 p.m. BST
3 - 3:45 p.m. CEST
9 - 9:45 a.m. EDT
6 - 6:45 p.m. GST
4 - 4:45 p.m. SAST

Dial-In Details
will be sent closer to the event date.

Fro additional information or to register please contact Joanna Tudor-Blakeway.